Zone Level Science Fair


Over the years, the participation of schools in the Zone Level Science Fair has been on the rise. The organisers initially divided the nation into 6 zones. In 2010, due to experience gained by the organisers on how to run the Zone Level Science Fair and the need to give more schools the opportunity to participate in the fair, the organising committee predesigned the zones and increased the number of zones to nine. We have maintained these zoning criteria since then and it has proven to be optimal by organisers and acceptable to schools.


In order to accommodate the increased number of schools participating, another change was made to the Zone Level Science Fair in 2011. The number of teams each school was allowed to participate was changed. Up to 2 teams from each school were allowed in the past. After the change was made, only 1 team from a school was allowed. This change however did not cause a drastic reduction in the number of teams participating because the number of schools that took part had increased. In fact, in 2013 a total of 282 teams, and 261 teams in 2014, participated nationwide. In 2015, 221 schools participated in Zone Level Science Fair and in 2016 it increased to 258 schools. In 2017,326 schools with 370teams were participated in the nationwide.

Zones2008 & 20092010 - 2017
1Kedah, Penang & PerlisKedah & Perlis
3Selangor & Kuala LumpurPerak
4Melaka & Negeri SembilanSelangor
5JohorKuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
6Pahang & KelantanNegeri Sembilan
9-Pahang & Kelantan

 Table: Comparison of Zone Categories

ZonesStatesTotal Schools 
1Kedah, Penang & Perlis2828
3Selangor & Kuala Lumpur, W.P.5874
4Melaka & Negeri Sembilan43
6Pahang & Kelantan1514

Table: Participation of Schools in Zone Level Science Fair in 2008 and 2009

ZonesStatesTotal SchoolsTotal Teams
1Kedah & Perlis174134524938474046
5KualaLumpur,W. Persekutuan14131010199121317
6Negeri Sembilan181830303422304652
9Pahang & Kelantan141715192520292426

Table: Participation of Schools in the Zone Level Science Fair in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

The Zone Level Science Fairs were held in April and May 2017. The shortlisted schools for the National Level Science Fair were given sufficient time to improvise their experiment. The details of the Zone Level Science Fairs are shown in the table below.

1Kedah & Perlis13/5/2017University Insaniah ,Kuala Ketil, Kedah
2Penang13/5/2017Dewan Utama Peperiksaan, USM
3Perak29/4/2017SJK (C) Chong Min, Teluk Intan
13/5/2017Dewan Kampung Jambu, Taiping Perak
4Selangor & Wilayah13/5/2017RDA Banguet Hall, Sri Damansara
6Negeri Sembilan13/5/2017Nilai Square Commercial Centre, 71800 Nilai, Negeri Sembilan,
7Melaka13/5/2017SMK Seri Pengkalan, Alor Gajah, Melaka
8Johor13/5/2017Dewan Serbaguna Johor Jaya, JB
9Pahang30/4/2017SMK, Hwa Lian, Mentakab

Table: Zone Level Science Fair 2017 Dates and Venues