National Level Science Fair


The National Science Fair for Young Children 2017 was held as a twos (2) day event which started on 12th August 2017, Saturday morning at 7.00am and ended on 13th August 2017 at 3.00pm. The event was a great success. The details of the event are as follows:


Date : 12th August 2017 (Saturday) and 13th August 2017 (Sunday)
Venue for Science Fair Event : German Malaysian Institute, Bangi, Selangor.


A special team was set up to organise the two (2) days National Science Fair for Young Children 2017 a month prior to the event by the Working Group Committee. The event committee was led by Ms. Umahsankariah Muthunaikar. A total of 16 departments were formed and tasks were delegated to each Head of Department (HOD). The list of HODs is shown in Table 5.1 below. The NSFYC was assisted by more than 33 volunteers from Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Ismail (UPSI) and Manipal, Melaka.

1Mr.SelventhiranProject Director
2Ms. Umahsankariah MuthunaikarEvent Committee Head
3Ms.Vanitha VasuVolunteers Management
4Mr.Sakthivel Safety & Hall Management
5Mr. Jaganath RajaendranCrowd Management
6Ms.Noorul HudaJudging & Conference Department
7Ms.ArchanaStage & Prizes Management
8Ms.DharsineeF&B Management
9Mr.Kumaresan Ramakrisnan Media Management
10Ms.YugeswariPress Management
11Mr.SivarajTraffic, Transportation & Security Department
12Ms.DharsineeUshering Department
13Ms.CarolSurvey Department
14Ms.NanthiniRegistration Department
15Ms.NanthiniGames & Quizzes
16Mr.HassanPublic Relation

Table: List of Heads of Departments for the National Science Fair for Young Children 2017

The various job functions making up the event were well coordinated by the volunteers and integrated well to result in a smooth, seamless, well run two (2) day event. The Head of Event Committee and the HODs executed the tasks well with the volunteers to ensure those participating in and those visiting the fair could do so easily and were provided with all the necessary assistance needed.

The events were coordinated as follows:

12th August 2017, Saturday


The event began on 12th August 2017 with Registration at 7.00 am. Registration was open from 7.00 am till 9.00 am. A goodie bags containing T-shirt, Tag, Guidebook, Souvenir Book, 2016 Science Fair for Young Children Report, 2015 ASTI Annual Report and 2016 ASTI Annual Report was given to each school during registration. Each school was given token for transportation and accommodation on the second day of the event. Next was Hands on Experiments session from 9.00 am till 11.00 am. It was compulsory for all the selected 68 schools to participate. Students were given questions and apparatus to do experiment on the spot. From 9.30 am to 4.30 pm was Teachers Sharing Session. A few speakers were invited to give talk during the Teachers Training Session. Mr. Rohn Rajan gave an activity based talk, and Dr. Subramaniam Gurusamy from ASTI gave a talk on 21st Century Education. There were also Judging Sharing Session led by National Chief Judge, Mr. Rajesh and Teachers Sharing Session, a discussion with ASTI Committee. In the Judging Sharing Session Mr. Rajesh explained the judging criteria for the Scientific Paper Presentation, Booth Judging and Hands on Experiment. The session ended by giving out certificates to teachers and a set of books for each school. The judges arrived at 7.00 am to get started with their judging task. Lunch Break was given from 1.00 pm to 2.00 pm. After lunch break, it was time for Cross Judging Session at 2.00 pm until 4.30 pm. Tea Break was served at 5.00 pm and then refreshment. Then, Opening Ceremony began at 4.30pm. The guest of honour for the opening ceremony was Dr. Yunus Yasin – President of ASTI, Dr. Subramaniam Gurusamy – Vice President of ASTI, Mej. Dr. Vikneswaran Munikanan – Treasurer of ASTI, Mr. Selvendran J. Thanapal – Project Director of SFYC 2017, State PST & MGB and State Coordinators. The Welcoming speech was given by Mr.Selvendran, Project Director of SFYC. SFYC Mascot –Arivan was invited to place the Challenge Trophy. After the opening ceremony, Scientific Paper Presentation began at 5.30pm till 7.00pm. The 5 shortlisted schools did the presentation. Other schools that were shortlisted were allowed to watch the presentation. During this time PST – MGB Forum was held. The PST – MGB Forum is the discussion on the current and the future Science Fair. It was bedtime after the session ended at 10.00 pm.

13th August 2017, Sunday


The second day of National Science Fair began at 8.00 am with breakfast. The breakfast was from 8.00 am till 9.00 am. After breakfast was Re-judging. It was held from 9.00 am until 11.00 am. Public viewing was held simultaneously from 9.00 am to 12.30 pm. Lunch was served from 12.00 noon till 1.00 pm for the participants. Next on the agenda was the Closing & Prize Giving Ceremony. It began at 2.00 pm and ended at 3.45 pm. There were 3 categories of winners: Creativity Category, Conference Paper Presentation and NSFYC Winners. All categories were judged by capable judges. The top 3 winners of the Creativity Category received certificates and cash prizes worth RM700, RM500 and RM300. The top 3 winners of the Conference Paper Presentation also received certificates and cash prize of RM500, RM400 and RM300. The Platinum winner received trophy, certificates and cash prize of RM2,000. The 5 Gold winners received trophy, certificates and cash prize of RM1,500. Meanwhile the Silver and Bronze winners took home trophy and certificates. All the NSFY participants went back home with medals, T-shirts as souvenir and certificate of participation. The judges who contributed towards science fair were given certificates and goodie bags. The volunteers who helped during science fair were also given certificates and T-shirts. Teachers were given certificates and T-shirts.

The list of NSFYC 2017 winners is as follows:

Platinum Award- Category B

SJKT Kinrara

Innovation Challenge

Champion: SJKT Taman Tun Aminah

1st Runner Up: SJKT Permas Jaya

2nd Runner Up: SJKT Permatang Tinggi

Gold Award-Category A

SJKT Port Dickson

Scientific Paper Presentation

Champion: SJKT Tun Aminah

1st Runner Up: SJKT Taman Permata

2nd Runner Up: SJKT Permas Jaya

Gold Award-Category B

SJKT Nilai

SJKT Permatang Tinggi

SJKT Taman Permata

SJKT Permas Jaya